The Barbara J. Blaszak Prize

Barbara J. Blazsak.

The Barbara J. Blaszak Prize is given annually to the best paper presented at the conference by a graduate student. Established in 2015, the award is presented in honor of Barbara Blaszak, Professor Emerita of History at Le Moyne College.  It carries a $100 cash prize along with complimentary registration at the next year’s meeting.

The prize is determined by a committee of judges who are members of the NYSAEH Executive Committee. 

Please note that in order to be eligible for the prize, you must be pre-registered for the conference.

Past Winners

2018: Máire Fox, St. John’s University. “Anatomy as Visual and Performance Art in Victorian Britain.”

2017: Elżbieta Kwiecińska, European University Institute. “The concept of the ‘civilizing mission’ and German, Polish, and Ukrainian orientalism in a global perspective (1841-1918).”

2016: Sarah Patterson, University at Albany. “Chloroform, Clinics and Caps: The Medicalization of Reproduction in the United States and Great Britain.”

2015: Diana Moore, The Graduate Center, City University of New York. “A New Apostolate: Transnational Protestant and Mazzinian Women in Italian State-Building.”